Prizes Archives - Page 5 of 22 - The Millions

October 16, 2013

2013 National Book Award Shortlists Released 4


The contenders for the 2013 National Book Award were pared down to a five nominees in each category today. Here’s a list of the finalists in all four categories with bonus links and excerpts where available.

October 15, 2013

2013 Man Booker Prize Winner Announced 4


Eleanor Catton has become the youngest author to ever win the prestigious Man Booker Prize.

October 10, 2013

Canadian Short Story Master Alice Munro Wins the Nobel Prize for Literature 5


Alice Munro, called by the Nobel committee “Master of the contemporary short story,” has won the 2013 Nobel Prize for literature. Munro, 82, is the first Canadian to take the prize.

September 25, 2013

2013’s Literary Geniuses 16


The MacArthur grant awards $625,000, “no strings attached” to “talented individuals who have shown extraordinary originality and dedication in their creative pursuits and a marked capacity for self-direction.”

September 19, 2013

2013 National Book Award Longlists Released 4


Last year, the fiction finalists included far more male authors than female, however the count is even in 2013.

September 10, 2013

Famous Names and Newcomers on the 2013 Booker Shortlist (With Excerpts) 7


Four women make a shortlist that mixes big names and newcomers.

July 29, 2013

The Prizewinners 2012/2013 0


With the awarding of the International IMPAC Dublin Literary Award, the 2012/2013 literary award season is now over, which gives us the opportunity to update our list of prizewinners.

July 23, 2013

The Booker’s Dozen: The 2013 Booker Longlist 6


This year’s longlist is among the most diverse ever put out by the Booker judges.

April 15, 2013

Adam Johnson’s North Korea Novel Takes the Pulitzer Prize 1


After taking a pass last year, the Pulitzer jury offered up a fiction winner.

April 9, 2013

The 2013 IMPAC Shortlist is a Global Affair 1


This year’s shortlist is remarkable because half of its titles are works in translation.