Prizes Archives - Page 10 of 22 - The Millions

March 24, 2011

2011 Best Translated Book Award Finalists Announced 5


The Best Translated Book Award highlights work in translation (of course), a corner of the literary world that gets far less attention in the U.S. than it deserves.

March 15, 2011

Eisenberg Wins the PEN/Faulkner 0


Deborah Eisenberg has won the PEN/Faulkner Award for Fiction for The Collected Stories of Deborah Eisenberg. (Eisenberg profiled at The Millions.)

March 11, 2011

2010 National Book Critics Circle Award Winners Announced 1


Last night, the winners of the National Book Critics Circle Award were announced in New York City.

March 3, 2011

2011 PEN/Faulkner Award for Fiction Nominees Announced 0


The nominees for the 2011 PEN/Faulkner fiction award have been announced. The books in the running are Millions Hall of Famer A Visit From the Goon Squad by Jennifer Egan (Egan profiled at The Millions); The Collected Stories of Deborah Eisenberg (Eisenberg profiled at The Millions); National Book Award winner Lord of Misrule by Jaimy […]

January 22, 2011

2010 National Book Critics Circle Award Finalists Announced 5


The fiction list includes four books that have gotten quite a lot of attention over the last year

November 18, 2010

2010 National Book Award Winners Announced 2


The 2010 National Book Awards were announced this evening. In fiction, Jaimy Gordon won for The Lord of Misrule; in nonfiction, Patti Smith won for Just Kids; in poetry, Terrance Hayes won for Lighthead; and for young people’s literature, Kathryn Erskine won for Mockingbird.

November 15, 2010

Digging into the 2011 IMPAC Longlist 4


Because of the IMPAC award’s global reach and egalitarian process, it’s always interesting to dig deeper into the longlist.

October 13, 2010

2010 National Book Award Finalists Announced 1


Four women and one man – a pair of international names, a 20 under 40’er and a pair of lesser known names – make up the fiction finalists.

October 12, 2010

Booker Shocker: Finkler Takes the Prize 1


The surprising winner of the 2010 Booker Prize is Howard Jacobson’s The Finkler Question

October 7, 2010

The Nobel Prize in Literature Goes to Mario Vargas Llosa 3


Surprising the oddsmakers, the 2010 winner of the Nobel Prize in Literature is the Peruvian writer Mario Vargas Llosa.