Browse by Author

Related Books

Freedom: A Novel (Hardcover)

by Jonathan Franzen

New Franzen in 2015 1

The Millions Top Ten: May 2014 0

An eighth author becomes a two-time Hall of Famer

Put a Bird on It 1

Talking Covers 0

The Tournament of Books Declares a Winner! 0

The Final Rounds of the ToB 2

Round One of the Rooster 0

The Millions Top Ten: February 2011 1

Three debuts and a brand new number one.

The Millions Top Ten: January 2011 2

Goon Squad! Plus two debuts a long time in coming.

Which Book Can Save Your Life? 2

The Millions Top Ten: December 2010 1

Year in Reading recommendations storm the Top Ten.

The Millions Top Ten: November 2010 2

One prize winner graduates to our Hall of Fame, another debuts.

The Notables: 2010 0

This year’s New York Times Notable Books of the Year list is out. Sticking with the fiction exclusively, it appears that we touched upon a few of these books as well.

No Boys Allowed: A Book Club to Discuss Jonathan Franzen's Freedom 18

I loved the idea of getting together to discuss a big book, one that people across the nation were also buying, and reading, and meeting to talk about. It felt like we were participating in a cultural moment--it was like getting a Cabbage Patch Kid in the 1980s. Plus, there would be snacks

The Millions Top Ten: October 2010 0

Not much action on the list last month, but a pair of favorites are pushing higher.

The Millions Top Ten: September 2010 2

A financial meltdown post-mortem graduates to the Hall of Fame and a Booker shortlister debuts.

Franzen and Oprah: Together at Last? 1

Is Big Back? 23

A mini-boom in big books would seem to complicate our assumptions about the Incredible Shrinking Attention Span.

Video Killed the Print Review 0

Millions Top Ten: August 2010 1

You know who grabbed the top spot, but which other two literary superstars made a splash on The Millions' list in August?

Tuesday New Release Day 0

Tough Love: A Review of Jonathan Franzen's Freedom 18

With 2001's The Corrections, Franzen would seem to have perfected his maximalist method. What might it mean to say that his new novel, Freedom, finds him maturing?

Michiko Kakutani on Jonathan Franzen's "Freedom" 1

The Franzen Cover and a Brief History of Time 17

A look at Time's 83 literary coverboys and -girls reveals a waffling between reaching out and selling out that, today, we'd describe as Franzean.

NPR Reviews the New Franzen 2

Most Anticipated Summer Reading 2010 and Beyond: The Great 2010 Book Preview Continued 42

Dozens of books that you'll want to be reading for the rest of the year and into the next. Dig in!

The Millions Top Ten: May 2010 0

Tinkers debuts and The Corrections graduates. Plus, a controversial new number one.

First Lines of the New Jonathan Franzen 1

The Millions Top Ten: April 2010 3

Franzen stays on top. Sebald to the Hall of Fame. Tolstoy debuts.

The Millions Top Ten: March 2010 2

David Mitchell graduates to the Hall of Fame, Michael Lewis debuts, and we have a new number one.

An Exclusive Look at the Cover of Jonathan Franzen's Freedom 12

We learned recently that Jonthan Franzen's long-awaited follow-up to The Corrections, a new novel called Freedom, will arrive at the end of August.

Freedom Looms 0

Most Anticipated: The Great 2010 Book Preview 69

There's something for every lover of fiction coming in 2010, but, oddly enough, the dominant theme may be posthumous publication.