Year in Reading

A Year in Reading: Hamilton Leithauser (The Walkmen)

By posted at 11:00 am on December 9, 2011 6

coverI, Claudius by Robert Graves: This was my favorite book of the year. I really couldn’t put it down. It’s just a classic injustice/revenge story, with a lot of poisonings and beheadings, following the life of Tiberius Claudius Caesar Augustus Germanicus, who unexpectedly (especially to himself) became Emperor of Rome in the 1st century A.D. Graves makes Claudius into a wholly sympathetic, pretty funny lead character, who basically watches on the sidelines while his family kills each other off. On something like the second page, Graves (as Claudius) is right on when he says something about how this won’t be another “he begat he who begat him who begat him…” bore. If you really dig it, I’d recommend continuing on to Claudius the God, which picks up right after I, Claudius ends. It’s another 900 pages or so. By the end of that one, you’ll have had your fill. (Although, later I did rent the BBC documentary too … I loved it!)

coverFrank: The Voice by James Kaplan:  I’d never really known the chronology of Frank Sinatra’s career, especially the rough times. This book charts his early life in Hoboken and years as a rising star, but most interesting is his reinvention of himself in the late 1940s. He really fell out of favor with the public after being listed as unfit for duty in WWII, and over the next years, while his superstar wife, Ava Gardner, was sleeping with every man she could get her hands on, he sank deeper and deeper into a Jack Daniels-depression and plunged out of the spotlight. But even as rock ‘n’ roll was eclipsing his big-band standards as the music de jour, Frank somehow found a new voice (with help from his new string arranger Nelson Riddle) and climbed back to the top. Anyone with even a passing interest in Frank should check this one out.

King Suckerman by George P. Pelecanos: I’m from D.C. originally, so I get a kick out of the hyper-local scene here, and all the little historical details. Not sure if that will resonate with anyone else. This is a thug and cop novel with shotguns and drugs. This is not the D.C. you will find if you go there today.

The Forever War by Dexter Filkins: This guy is not afraid of diving into the serious shit. It’s a first-hand account of the fighting and aftermath in Iraq and Afghanistan. Over and over you just can’t believe what you’re reading.

More from A Year in Reading 2011

Don’t miss: A Year in Reading 2010, 2009, 2008, 2007, 2006, 2005

The good stuff: The Millions’ Notable articles

The motherlode: The Millions’ Books and Reviews

Like what you see? Learn about 5 insanely easy ways to Support The Millions, The Millions on Twitter, Facebook, Tumblr.





Share this article

More from the Millions

6 Responses to “A Year in Reading: Hamilton Leithauser (The Walkmen)”

  1. Chris
    at 1:53 pm on December 9, 2011

    I believe I’ve listened to The Walkmen’s “You & Me” all the way through more than 200 times and I’m closing in on that same number for “Lisbon.” Needless to say, I particularly enjoy seeing what books Hamilton loved each year. Adding “I, Claudius” to my wish list and I second the recommendation for “The Forever War.” It’s a devastating book.

  2. Jim
    at 5:32 pm on December 9, 2011

    Hamilton, if you loved “I, Claudius” you really have to read “Augustus” by John Williams. It won the National Book Award in 1973 and I’m amazed at the number of people who haven’t read it (it is considred written in the tradition of “I, Claudius”). You can thank me later.

  3. Hamilton Leithauser of The Walkmen likes FRANK: THE VOICE « James Kaplan
    at 9:38 pm on December 12, 2011

    [...] Leithauser of The Walkmen likes FRANK: THE VOICE Hamilton Leithauser of The Walkmen likes Frank: The Voice…. © James Kaplan 2010 • Web design by Adrian Kinloch Cufon.now(); var _gaq = [...]

  4. Ryan
    at 9:59 am on December 14, 2011

    He actually recommended “Augustus” last year in his review of John William’s “Stoner.” After reading “Stoner” I was really looking forward to his list this year. It makes my x-mas list development easier.

    The Walkmen albums always remind me of the Yates and Cheever types, particularly in a world where they got to travel.

  5. Randy
    at 4:43 pm on December 14, 2011

    “Winter’s Tale” by Mark Helprin.

  6. iron_jmcv
    at 11:43 pm on December 14, 2011

    great picks; bookmarked. looking forward to seeing the walkmen next month in sf!

Post a Response

Comments with unrelated links will be deleted. If you'd like to reach our readers, consider buying an advertisement instead.

Anonymous and pseudonymous comments that do not add to the conversation will be deleted at our discretion.